Request Fragrance Free Magazines; Banish the Smelly Perfume Ads

Many magazines will offer fragrance free copies, you just have to ask. I recently subscribed to In Style Magazine and asked for unscented copies. The first copy had one scented ad in it, but they warned me that this might happen. The second copy is without the perfume ad that is in the newsstand copy.  It is unfortunate that In Style’s website does not mention that they offer this service. You have to send customer service an email.

Time, Inc. which owns In Style magazine could take a cue from Hearst Magazines. They make it easy to subscribe to one of their publications without smelly insert ads. Hearst Corporation provides a link on their website where you can easily request  a scent-free copy.

I am very happy that I can now enjoy In Style magazine without ripping out the smelly ads and airing out the magazine first.

If you buy magazines for a business, like a doctor’s office, please consider ordering unscented copies for those who have sensitivities to fragrances. I have added the links in the text so you can request your scent-free copies now.

7 responses to “Request Fragrance Free Magazines; Banish the Smelly Perfume Ads

  1. This is great to know. Thanks so much!

  2. I just called the number I found in my June 2012 issue of InStyle magazine (1.800.279.6200), and asked that I be sent only fragrance-free issues in the future. The operator, Tamar, said that she would put in a request. She said that the next two issues (I subscribe) would still contain fragrance. I hope this works, because InStyle’s fragrance is very, very strong. Even after I tear out the perfume ads, it is still strong. I like the magazine, but will have to cancel if they don’t fix it.

    • Flo,

      This is exactly what happened with me. The first two had the stinky ads but I have not gotten a smelly copy since. Let us know how it goes.

  3. This would be great! I have MCS, and I cannot find a magazine I can actually order. I hope this works!

  4. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. Id prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don?t mind. Natually Ill give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  5. I did this a while back with my Wired subscription. For a few issues, they arrived scent free. Then I got a smelly one again. I contacted customer support again and they told me that not every issue was available scent free and that I would only scent free issues for months where they were available. Ever since then, *every* single issue has had the perfume strips in them.
    I tear them out and leave them outside, sometimes for up to a month, but I can still smell it. I wish this solution had been permanent. Thanks for mentioning it, and I hope others have more luck than I did.

  6. yo its real

Leave a comment